Gendered Knockers

Over at deconcrete I read about Persian gendered knockers on old doors.

The two knockers make different sounds, letting the person on the inside know the gender of the person at the door, determining, in turn, whether a man or woman opens the door. Their shapes are also reminiscent of the shape of genitalia: one a curvy opening, the other a straight shaft.

I wish I knew what the inscription above the door said.

One Comment to “Gendered Knockers”

  1. The inscription above the door, as a narration by Allah, reads as below:

    Loving Ali ibn Abi-Talib (the 1st Shia Imam) and taking him as the divine leader is My castle. So whoever enters My castle will be safe from My Punishment.

Leave a Reply

